Health Services


Welcome to the CUSD 205 school health services webpage!

Here you will find various sources of health information, resources, required forms/documents, etc. If after reviewing the available information on the CUSD 205 website you continue to have unanswered questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to your building nurse or certified school nurse. 

Each building has a nurse present daily. A certified school nurse is present in the buildings on assigned days of the week in addition to the building nurse.

Nurses are present in the building from 7:45 AM- 3:45 PM



When to Keep your Child Home

If your child presents with any of these symptoms listed below please keep your child home until symptoms have greatly improved or as specified:

  • Fever/Chills: Presence of a fever of 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit or higher. Students should not return to school until they are fever free for at least 24 hours without the use of fever reducing medication (acetaminophen, ibuprofen, etc.)
  • Persistent cough or shortness of breath.
  • Severe earache or stomachache that makes it difficult to participate in the school day. 
  • Vomiting/Diarrhea. Students should not return until they are free of vomiting and/or diarrhea for at least 24 hours without the use of symptoms reducing medication. 
  • Eye symptoms such as redness, itchy or crusty eyes/lashes, or drainage. The child may return the school once cleared with a healthcare provider note stating he/she is cleared for school or has chronic condition. 
  • The first 24 hours of antibiotic treatment (i.e. strep throat, pink eye, etc.)
  • Undiagnosed new, and/pr treated rash or skin condition. The child may return to school if cleared with a healthcare provider note stating he/she is cleared for school or has a chronic condition. 
  • Wound with purulent drainage. 
  • If the individual tested positive for COVID-19 or there is strong suspicion of an impending COVID-19 diagnosis based upon clinic symptoms. Please see the District Covid-19 webpage or contact your school nurse for further questions regarding return to school guidance in specific scenarios. 

Reporting an Absence

You must notify your student's school by calling your school's attendance line if your child will be absent from school. When reporting an absence please indicate the reasoning for the absence. If the absence is related to an illness, please report the symptoms present (i.e. fever, cough, sore throat, etc.) and any diagnosed communicable disease if applicable. 

Please refer to the handbook for further information.

Returning to School After an Illness

Depending on the illness, a letter provided to the school nurse from your child's physician may be required prior to your child being re-admitted back to school. If your child's physician feels your student requires medical accommodations upon returning to school, please have the physician list the requested accommodations and we will do our best to meet those accommodations. Your student's health and safety upon returning to school is a number one priority! 

If there is any uncertainty whether a "return to school" letter is required for your student, please call the school health office to discuss any questions or concerns. 

A "return to school" letter must be signed and dated by your student's physician. 

Please see the District Covid-19 webpage or contact your school nurse for further questions on return to school guidance for specific Covid-19 related scenarios. 

PE/Activity Restrictions

If your student needs to be excused from PE/Activities, a physician letter must be provided to the school nurse stating the medical reason for the restriction, the date of when the restriction starts and when the student may return to normal activity.  If the date of return is not listed, a follow up letter must be provided to the school nurse in two weeks with an update of your student's medical condition and, if possible, a date for returning to normal activity.  Your student may not return to PE/Activities until the school nurse is provided a letter with physician clearance.  

If your child is excused from PE they are also restricted from participation in recess/TDPE and intramural activities/sports.  

Please contact your school nurse for questions/concerns regarding your student's specific circumstances.  Please see the student handbook for more information.