Introduction President's Message Members Board Committees BoardDocs (Agenda) Calendar of Meetings (Audio, Highlights and Minutes) Board Highlights Meeting Video Policy Manual
About Us Allergy Awareness Bid Requests & RFP Boundaries Calendars D205 Committees District Annual Report Food Services Government Transparency Health & Safety Master Facility Plan Safe Routes To School Schools Social Media Spotlight On 205 State School Report Cards Student Achievement
Communications and Public Relations Finance & Operations Human Resources Learning & Teaching Research & Assessment Student Services Superintendent Technology
2017 PT Conferences Important School Information Community Events Community Resources ELL Resources Elmhurst Instrumental Music Boosters (EIMB) Foundation Library Resources Parent/Student Resources PTA Council Publications Quick Links QuickTip REACH PTA SERG Student Registration Summer School TALK205
Job Opportunities Partnerships Volunteer Opportunity
York Alumni Home Alumni News York Centennial Celebration Alumni Association Reunions YDAP Nomination Form York Distinguished Alumni Program (YDAP) Update Your Information
Address Administrative Departments Elmhurst Copyright Policy FAQ FOIA Requests Staff


Nine Elmhurst Schools Earn Academic Excellence

The Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) has just announced the 2012 Award of Excellence winners. Representing Elmhurst on the list are Edison, Emerson, Field, Hawthorne, Jackson, Jefferson, and Lincoln elementary schools as well as Bryan and Sandburg middle schools.


Academic Excellence Awards recognize 454 schools in Illinois that have sustained very high academic performance over at least three years. In elementary and middle schools, at least 90% of the students met or exceeded state standards in both reading and mathematics for at least 3 consecutive years.


In high schools, at least 85% of the students met or exceeded standards on the Prairie State Achievement Exam in 2010-2012. All Academic Excellence schools achieved Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) for the past two years. Only four schools qualified this year, all of which were Chicago magnet schools – Northside, Payton, Jones and Young.


The breakdown of districts earning the most ISBE Academic Excellence Awards in 2012 is a follows:


Honor Roll Districts copy.jpg

Posted by: Melea Smith, District Admin, Elmhurst Community Unit School District 205 Published:1/28/13
Audience: Homepage and Homepage