Introduction President's Message Members Board Committees BoardDocs (Agenda) Calendar of Meetings (Audio, Highlights and Minutes) Board Highlights Meeting Video Policy Manual
About Us Allergy Awareness Bid Requests & RFP Boundaries Calendars D205 Committees Food Services Government Transparency Health & Safety Master Facility Plan Safe Routes To School Schools Social Media Spotlight On 205 State School Report Cards Student Achievement
Communications and Public Relations Finance & Operations Human Resources Learning & Teaching Research & Assessment Student Services Superintendent Technology
2017 PT Conferences Important School Information Community Events Community Resources ELL Resources Elmhurst Instrumental Music Boosters (EIMB) Foundation Library Resources Parent/Student Resources PTA Council Publications Quick Links QuickTip REACH PTA SERG Student Registration Summer School TALK205
Job Opportunities Partnerships Volunteer Opportunity
York Alumni Home York Centennial Celebration Alumni Association Reunions YDAP Nomination Form York Distinguished Alumni Program (YDAP) Update Your Information
Address Administrative Departments Board of Education Elmhurst Copyright Policy FAQ FOIA Requests Staff

For more detailed information please see Audio and Minutes page, or meeting video. If you are a community member and wish to receive these highlights by email, click here.

2018 Highlights

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

2017-2018 Highlights en Español

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

2017 Highlights

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

Previous Years Highlights

PPT, Word, Excel Viewers [Go]
Acrobat Reader [Go]

Board Highlights

d205 board highlight darker.jpg

NOTE: Video footage of all Board of Education regular meetings are posted on 205TV within 48 hours. Audio is posted within 24 hours at (please click on appropriate meeting date).

...from the Jan. 27, 2018 Special Workshop Meeting

Long-Range District Planning Update

Board of Education Workshop


Introductions and Opening Thoughts

Superintendent Dr. David Moyer introduced the workshop presenters: Brad Paulson, Terry Moeller and Craig Seipka from Wight & Company architects, Terry Fielding from International Contractors Inc. (ICI), communications consultant Marcia Sutter and Lesley Rogers of Strategies 360.

In July, the Board was presented with a draft Operational Plan, along with an abstract summarizing the big ideas included in the plan. “We have been waiting to approve the final plan because we needed to do work to flesh out the facilities concepts that emerged from the Focus 205 process and solicit additional community input and feedback on those concepts,” said Dr. Moyer.

“Today, we will summarize the work that has been done to this point, share the initial facilities work to reflect the findings from Phase I of Focus 205, provide for interactive dialogue that will help further refine the concepts shared this morning, answer questions, and share some thoughts about next steps.

“We are not asking for approval of any final plan. Our goal is to share this information at the February 13 regular Board of Education meeting and receive authorization to move forward with a formal process of community engagement that will ultimately result in a Master Facilities Plan.”

(Master Facilities Planning Process Update)

Background/Anchor Points

  1. Community Feedback
    1. Focus 205 –
    2. ThoughtExchange Survey
    3. Telephone Poll – Strategies 360
  2. Research Data
    1. All Day Kindergarten Report
    2. Educational Alignment Study

Overarching Principles Reflected in Draft Operational Plan

Initial Facility Master Planning Thinking

  1. Comprehensive Improvements
    1. Field Elementary School
    2. Edison Elementary School
    3. Lincoln Elementary School
      1. Alternate Approaches: 
        1. Build New/Tear Down
        2. Relocate/Tear Down/Build New
      2. Key Considerations (pros/cons) Between Approaches
      3. Implementation – Interim Plan Options for Lincoln Students
      4. “Big Picture” Sequence of Work
    4. Madison Early Childhood Education Center
  2. Upgrades for Future Ready Learning
    1. Elementary Schools
    2. Middle Schools
  3. York Community High School Improvements
  4. Building Maintenance Needs

Next Steps and Closing Thoughts


February 13 – Board of Education Meeting – 7:30 PM – District 205 Center
February 19 – Presidents’ Day Holiday, no school
February 27 – Board of Education Meeting – 7:30 PM – District 205 Center
March 20 – Board of Education Meeting – 7:30 PM – District 205 Center